top of page

Hunter's Rules

Today is a special day. My publishers, Dark Stroke Books have confirmed that my new novel, Hunter's Rules, will launch on 01.01.2022. It is hard to believe that this is the sixth book in the series, and I hope there will be many more to follow.

Let me tell you a bit about the story in the new novel because Hunter's intentions to treat Meera to a surprise night in a stunning hotel go seriously awry.

Hunter's romantic plans come to an abrupt end when he and Meera stumble into the scene of a crime. A young woman was attacked in a hotel lift. She has traumatic injuries, but clings to life. Hunter notes that her wounds are like those inflicted on two other women, who died from their ordeal.

Meera attempts to keep the injured woman alive at least long enough for her to identify her assailant. Hunter wonders if the same person responsible for all three crimes. But when Hunter is identified as a suspect, he must establish his innocence and lead his team to solve the crime and keep Edinburgh safe.

You can pre-order the new novel here

The Author

This is the sixth book in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series of novels. Val Penny’s other crime novels, Hunter's Chase Hunter's Revenge, Hunter's Force Hunter’s Blood and Hunter’s Secret form the rest of this bestselling series set in Edinburgh, Scotland, published by darkstroke.

You can also start at the beginning of The Jane Renwick Thrillers with The First Cut.

Her first non-fiction book Let’s Get Published is also available now and she has most recently contributed her short story, Cats and Dogs to a charity anthology, Dark Scotland.

Val is an American author living in SW Scotland with her husband and their cat.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page