top of page

The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries set in Edinburgh, Scotland

Hunter's Chase is the first novel in the series of novels, The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries and writing it was an exciting challenge. First, I had to choose a setting for my novel. I toyed with the idea of creating an imaginary town for DI Hunter Wilson and his team to inhabit, as Peter Robinson has done with DCI Alan Banks and the town of Eastdale in Yorkshire. However, after much consideration, I decided there was no more beautiful setting than Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland in which to set Hunter's Chase.

The story in Hunter's Chase is set in late 2012, shortly before the Police Forces in Scotland were united into one national force. I discuss that union in the third book of the series, Hunter's Force.

Hunter and his team are based in the Headquarters of the Lothian and Borders Police Force at Fettes, in the north-west of Edinburgh. However, much of the action in that first novel Hunter's Chase, takes part in and around the south-west of the city.

DC Tim Myerscough lives with his girlfriend, Lady Sophie Dalmore, in a first-floor flat at the edge of Tollcross and Bruntsfield, while his father Sir Peter Myerscough has a house at East Steils on the outskirts of Morningside. 

The young lovers, Frankie and Annie do not live together. They live with their respective parents. Annie lives in Steele's Place in Morningside and Frankie's family live in Liberton.

Annie's father, Joe, frequents a local pub, Bennett's Bar while Annie and Frankie often walk through the beautiful area of parkland known as the Hermitage of Braid to meet each other.

However, the principal character, DI Hunter Wilson, following his divorce, moved to a second floor flat on the east side of the city, at Easter Road. He enjoys the company of the regulars he knows in his local pub, the Persevere Bar and plays darts in the pub team.

I hope those of you who are familiar with Edinburgh will enjoy exploring it again with DI Hunter Wilson and his team in Hunter's Chase and the other books in the series. Those of you who have not yet visited this historic and beautiful city may be persuaded to do so after reading the novels which are published by darkstroke and easily available from Amazon.

Val Penny

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page