The Sixth Book in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries


When best laid plans go awry…

Hunter and Meera’s romantic plans come to an abrupt end when they stumble into the scene of a crime.

A young woman was attacked in a hotel lift. She has traumatic injuries, but she clings to life. Hunter notes that her wounds are like those inflicted on two other women, who died from their ordeal.

Can Meera keep the injured woman alive long enough for her to identify the assailant? Is the same person responsible for all three crimes?

When Hunter is identified as a suspect, can he establish his innocence and lead his team to solve the crime and keep Edinburgh safe?


Hunter's Chase cover.jpg
Hunter's Revenge cover.jpg
Hunter's Force cover.jpg
Hunter's Blood cover.jpg
Hunter's Secret cover.jpg

Audiobook version now available


Hunter's Chase audio cover.jpg

Detective Inspector Hunter Wilson knows there is a new supply of cocaine flooding his city, and he needs to find the source, but his attention is transferred to murder when a corpse is discovered in the grounds of a golf course.

Shortly after the post-mortem, Hunter witnesses a second murder, but that is not the end of the slaughter. With a young woman's life also hanging in the balance, the last thing Hunter needs is a new man on his team: Detective Constable Tim Myerscough, the son of his nemesis, the former Chief Constable Sir Peter Myerscough.

Hunter's perseverance and patience are put to the test time after time in this first novel in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series.

Storm Clouds_2.png

Paris – the glamorous City of Light holds many dark secrets…



Discover Dark Paris in our collection of short stories written by award-winning and international bestselling authors - including myself!

As we traverse the City of Light, and delve below the surface, into its dark heart, follow spine-tingling tales of murder, ghostly appearances, baffling mysteries, and horrifying Black Masses!

All proceeds received for Dark Paris go to two worthy charities: Les Restos du Cœur and Fondation Brigitte Bardot.


A brand-new Scottish detective crime thriller


It’s hard to escape a brutal past…

A vicious serial killer is on the loose. Victims include an academic and notable members of Edinburgh’s high society. 

When Detective Sergeant Jane Renwick learns through DNA that a member of her family could be the killer, she is banished to the sidelines of the case and forced to look on impotently as the hunt for the killer ramps up. 

Frustrated, she decides to conduct her own investigations. Has someone from her estranged birth family returned to haunt her? And where will the killer strike next? 

It’s a race against time…

Storm Clouds.png

Scotland – a mysterious place full of dark happenings…


Dark Scotland.jpg

Discover Dark Scotland in a new collection of 16 short stories written by award-winning and international bestselling authors - including myself!

Let tales of ghosts, ghouls, mysteries, and madness get under your skin, as you travel the length and breadth of Scotland – and across the sea to Nova Scotia. Encounter old battles, dramatic landscapes, hidden worlds, and intriguing characters.

All proceeds received for Dark Scotland go to two worthy charities: The Halliday Foundation in Glasgow and ME Research in Perth.


Let's Get Published.jpg

At last, a book that is easy to read and tells it how it is! A book written to assist authors maximise their success when submitting work to agents or publishers, to help authors consider their priorities and preferences for getting work into print. To advise authors how to identify the agents and/or publishers they want to approach. It should also assist with editing their manuscript fully prior to submission. The book offers advice about how to prepare a submission package to give an author the best chance of success.


The road to becoming a successful author is not easy, but it is rewarding. Let this book take you on the journey.


Val Penny


val in mask.jpg

Hunter’s Rules is the sixth book in Val Penny’s Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series of novels published by darkstroke as is The First Cut the first book in the new series of Jane Renwick Thrillers.


She has recently contributed her short story, Cats and Dogs to a charity anthology, Dark Scotland. Her short story, The Corpse in the Catacombs will be published in the charity anthology, Dark Paris, shortly.


Val is an American author living in SW Scotland with her husband and their cat.


Subscribe for all my latest updates 

Thanks for submitting!







If you’d like to contact me with comments, suggestions or just to say hello, fill out the form below:

Thanks for your message!