top of page

Hunter's Secret by Lorraine Mace

Hunter’s Secret is the fifth novel in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series. The readers have come to trust Detective Inspector Hunter Wilson, but in this book, it is clear that he is holding something back and hiding it from his partner Dr. Meera Sharma. It seems out of character but perhaps his feelings towards her have changed.

When Hunter is called to the scene of a murder, all is not as it seems.  Two members of his team, DCs Tim Myerscough and Bear Zewedu found a corpse when they were training in an Edinburgh Park, but when Hunter arrives the body has disappeared.

Hunter recalls the disappearance of a body thirty years earlier. The Major Incident Team is called in but their officer in charge sees no connection. He thinks the earlier murder was too long ago for a connection to be made. However, Hunter is determined to investigate the past and the present with the benefit of modern DNA testing.

Tim has other problems in his life. His father, Sir Peter Myerscough, has been released from jail. He, too, remembers the earlier murder. There is no love lost between Hunter and Sir Peter but Hunter may have to accept help from his nemesis to catch a killer.

Hunter’s own secret is exciting and crucial to his future. He knows it could change his life. He also knows he must stop a murderer to keep Edinburgh safe once more.


Val Penny is an American author living in SW Scotland. She has two adult daughters of whom she is justly proud and lives with her husband and two cats. She has a Law degree from Edinburgh University and her MSc from Napier University. She has had many jobs including hairdresser, waitress, lawyer, banker, azalea farmer and lecturer. However, she has not yet achieved either of her childhood dreams of being a ballerina or owning a candy store. Until those dreams come true, she has turned her hand to writing poetry, short stories and novels.

Her crime novels, 'Hunter's Chase' Hunter's Revenge, Hunter's Force and Hunter’s Blood form the bestselling series The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries. They are set in Edinburgh, Scotland, published by Crooked Cat Books. The fifth novel in the series, Hunter's Secret, is published by darkstroke. Her first non-fiction book, Let’s Get Published is available now.

Author contact details

Author buy links


bottom of page